image1 image2 image3 image4 image5

 

Founding

          The Discovery of Homeopathy

 

The Cruel and Inhuman Ancient Western Medicine (Allopathy)

On 10th April 1755, Hahnemann was born in Meissen, a small town in Germany. His father was a ceramics painter and was also a devout Christian. Hahnemann had shown his intelligence and extraordinariness in his childhood. Since he was young , he had been fond of reading books about philosophy, chemistry, botany, herbalism, pharmacology and medicine. Through the self-study, he could master English, French, Latin, Greek, Hebrew, Arabic and German. In 1777, Hahnemann was 22 years old. He studied Western Medicine in University of Leipzig, and was fed up with the inhuman and unscientific treatment used by Western Medicine (Allopathy). Thus he showed his fierce opposition. He determined to devote his life to thoroughly memorize and master all the ancient and modern medicine books, and grasp the most superior curing methods, combined them into a mild, quick, toxic-free treatment for healing, and finally replacing the cruel and inhuman Allopathy.

According to history of the medicine, the Allopathic at that time were carried out in three ways: (a) using knife or leech to bleed, i.e. leeching, (b) burning the patient's body with fire, i.e. cauterizing, (c) using highly toxic drugs, such as mercury, arsenic, etc. to treat a patient in order to cause his/her diarrhea, i.e. purging. At that time the medical belief was that diarrhea could get rid of diseases. In fact, the diarrhea caused by toxic drugs was due to the body's innate detoxification function after a poisoning phenomenon. Leeching was popular at that time. In 1833, around 40 million leeches were imported to France for leeching used by doctors. At the same time Dr. Benjamin Rush , the father of Western Medicine in the United States, advocated the leeching theory that the food treatment approach was to draw 4 / 5 blood out of the body. Mr. George Washington, the first President of the United States, was died of serious anemia as a result of leeching three times a day.

 

Hahnemann's first scientific experiment for Homeopathy

 
In 1790, when Hahnemann translated special issues of foreign medical publication, he found a dissertation written by the Scotland Professor Cullen about using cinchona in treating malaria, with the ground of the two herbal characteristics of cinchona, viz. astringent and the bitter taste. Hahnemann disagreed Cullen’s idea with the reason that all the herbs which he knew, despite having the mentioned two herbal chrematistics, could not cure malaria. In order to find out the true cause of curing malaria by cinchona, he took cinchona himself.

After Hahnemann took cinchona twice and found his body had all the symptoms of malaria, viz  generalized bone pain, intermittent fever and chill, tachycardia, extreme anxiety and fatigue, etc. After he had stopped taking cinchona, the symptoms of malaria disappeared.

Hahnemann learned the cause of curing malaria by cinchona from this experiment. It was not due to the  contraction astringent and the bitter taste mentioned by Cullen, but its ability to result in “Artificial Disease” in a healthy and a keen human body. This first experiment determined the basic theory of Homeopathy, namely "Like cures like", and established the solid foundation for the coming research work.

 

Hahnemann’s New Discovery During the Research of Attenuating Remedy

After Hahnemann discovered the cause of curing malaria by cinchona, in order to take a further step to   realize the theory of "Like cures like”, he studied the responses of the other drugs on the healthy bodies in full gear. In addition, since he was very familiar with pharmacology, he had a thorough understanding of the harmful effects of the drug toxicity to the human body. In order to reduce the toxicity of drugs, Hahnemann attempted to dilute the drug. During the trial, Hahnemann discovered a strange phenomenon. If he diluted the drug in the ratio to 1:99 inside a phial, and made forced succussion of 100 times of this phial, then the toxicity of this liquid drug was found to be removed and its healing effectiveness was also enhanced. And this is even more strange that ─ ─ the more dilution and succussion times were done to the drug, its performance did not worsen, but its healing power becomes stronger and stronger. Hahnemann called this both diluted and succussed drug liquid to be Remedy. After six years of hard work and testing of nearly a hundred kinds of remedies, he compiled all the test results into “Materia Medica Pura”. In 1796 this renewed medical concept and the medical research results of so many years were officially announced to the world. As for the term Homeopathy, until 1810 Hahnemann put it in his firstly published Organon First Edition.

Hahnemann's was very serious and never self-contented about the studies of Homeopathy. In order to achieve the most ideal treatment, after he had firstly announced the medial results of Homeopathy, he was still working hard to continue his study and improved the treatment techniques and the potentization methods of Homeopathy. Therefore, in his life career of research, he had repeatedly changed and improved the treatment techniques and the potentization methods of Homeopathy. As he was extremely busy at work during the daytime, like teaching, research and treating patients, he had only the chance at night to consolidate the recorded insight and experience of the research at the daytime and compile them into books. He might think over problems or write reports in a few sleepless nights. According to the historical records, he went to bed three hours every two days. Since Hahnemann was highly enthusiastic over his research, he could have an extraordinary achievement on his research work of Homeopathy, and became the unique and productive authors of medical research. Within the 60 years from the age of 22 to his later years, Hahnemann wrote a total of 116 major research writings and about 120 booklets. On the Sunday morning of 2nd July 1843, Hahnemann finally passed away with a tired body at age 88.

References:
1. Trevor M Cook, Samuel Hahnemann, The founder of Homeopathic Medicine, Thorsons Publishers Limited, Willingbrough, Northamptonshire, 1988.
2.M. B. Panos, Jane Heimlich, Homeopathic Medicine at Home, Chapter 1: What is Homeopathy, p.9-12, J. P. Tarcher Inc., Los Angeles, 1980.
3. Ramamlal P. Patel, Homeopathy: Its Principles and Doctrines, Hahnemann Homeopathic Pharmacy, India, 1981, Chapter 4 (6), Chapter 2. What is Homeopathy?, chapter 3, Discovery of Homeopathy, pp. 2-5. C. M. S. Press, Kottayam.

[繁體] [简体] [ENG]
順勢療法的發現 - Living Homeopathy Ltd.

順勢療法的發現

殘酷不仁的古代西醫 (對抗療法Allopathy)

哈尼曼在公元1755年4月10日生於德國的小鎮美森〈Meissen〉,父親是陶瓷漆工,並且是虔誠基督徒。童年的哈尼曼已顯得聰敏過人,從小便喜愛閱讀哲學、化學、植物學、草藥學、藥物學及與醫學有關的書籍。經自修不久後便能精通英語、法語、拉丁文、希臘語、希伯來語、阿拉伯語及德語七國語言。1777年,22歲的哈尼曼赴萊比錫〈Leipzig〉大學進修醫科,對當時西醫﹝對抗療法學派﹞所使用的不仁道及不科學的治療方法感到厭倦並表示極力反對,而立志要用畢生精力將古今的所有醫藥典藉一一熟讀以至融會貫通,而後再取各家各派醫術之長,結合成為一種溫和、快捷而全無毒性的最佳救死扶傷之治療方法來取代當時殘酷不仁的對抗療法。

根據醫學歷史記載:當時對抗療法所採用的醫療方法有三種:(一)以小刀或水蛭來放血〈Leeching〉、(二)以火燒灼病人身體〈cauterizing〉、(三)以毒性極高的藥物,如水銀、砒霜等給病人服用,作用是要使病人肚瀉〈purging〉。當時的醫學信念認為肚瀉可把疾病瀉走,其實服用有毒藥物所導致的肚瀉乃人體先天的排毒功能,即中毒後的現象。而放血治療更是大行其道,例如1833年法國在一年中進口給醫生作放血治療的水蛭多達4千萬條。當時美國的西醫醫學之父屈殊〈Dr. Benjamin Rush〉所提倡的放血治療理論是主張把人體4/5的血液抽出來,才算是良好的治療。美國第一任總統華盛頓,是由於同一天內接受三次放血治療而導致過度貧血死亡。


哈尼曼的第一個順勢療法科學實驗

1790年,當哈尼曼翻譯外國醫學專刊時,他發現了蘇格蘭教授卡爾倫〈Cullen〉的一篇論文中提及金雞納能治療瘧疾,其理由是:因金雞納有收縮纖維﹝即收歛﹞及甘苦味道兩大藥性。哈尼曼不同意卡爾倫的見解,原因是:在他認識的草藥裡,也有很多種藥物擁有以上兩種藥性,但卻不能治療瘧疾。為了要尋求金雞納能治療瘧疾的真正原因,他便親自服用金雞納。

哈尼曼於內服金雞納兩次後,發現自己的身體產生了所有瘧疾的症狀:全身骨頭疼痛、體溫忽冷忽熱、心跳加速、極度憂慮及疲乏等。當他停止服用金雞納時,瘧疾症狀便不再出現。

哈尼曼從這實驗中了解到金雞納能治療瘧疾的理由,並非如卡爾倫所說因金雞納有收縮纖維及甘苦味道的藥性所致,而是因它能在健康而敏銳的人體內產生“人工疾病”〈Artificial Disease〉,這第一次實驗,確定了順勢療法的基本理論,即“相似者能治癒”,更為日後的研究工作打下了穩固的基礎。


哈尼曼研究稀釋療劑時的新發現

哈尼曼自發現了金雞納能治癒瘧疾的理由後,為求進一步了解“相似者能治癒”的道理,他更全力以赴地來研究其他藥物在健康人體上的反應。另外,由於他熟讀藥物學,對藥物毒性帶給人體的害處有透徹的認識。為求減輕藥物的毒性,哈尼曼嘗試將藥物稀釋。在試驗期間,哈尼曼發現了一種奇特現象,他用1:99的比例來稀釋藥物,再將這些稀釋液放在玻璃瓶中用力振盪100次後,藥物便會因而去除毒性並能增強療效。而更奇怪的是──藥物的稀釋和振盪次數越多,其效能不但不會減少,反而會變得越來越強。哈尼曼將這些經過稀釋和振盪而成的藥物稱為──療劑(Remedies)。經過了6年努力,測試了近百種療劑後,他將所有測試結果編輯成《純粹藥物學Materia Medica Pura》一書;並於1796年將這個“全新”的醫療概念和多年的研究結果正式公佈於世。至於順勢療法(Homeopathy)這一名詞,哈尼曼直到1811年才首次刊登在他的第一版本《機轉學 Organon 》一書之內。

哈尼曼對順勢療法的研究,態度認真嚴謹,從不自滿。為求達到自己對治療所提出的最高理想,於首次公報順勢療法的醫療成果後,仍努力不懈地繼續研究和改良順勢療法的治療技術及稀釋療劑的方法。所以在他一生的研究生涯中,曾多次更改順勢療法的治療技術和稀釋療劑的方法。由於工作極度繁忙,白天需同時教學、研究和治療病人,所以要等到晚上才有機會整理日間所記錄的研究心得和編寫書籍,亦經常為了思考問題或書寫報告而數夜不眠。據歷史記載,他平均每兩天才睡三個小時。因哈尼曼對研究工作的狂熱,所以他對順勢療法的研究有超人的成就,並成為古今絕無僅有的多產醫療研究著作者。從22歲開始至他的晚年這60多年中,哈尼曼共寫了116冊大型研究著作和約120本小冊子。1843年7月2日星期天的早上,哈尼曼終帶著疲乏的身驅與世長辭,享年88歲。


參考文獻:
1. Trevor M Cook, Samuel Hahnemann, The founder of Homeopathic Medicine, Thorsons Publishers Limited, Willingbrough, Northamptonshire, 1988.
2. M. B. Panos, Jane Heimlich, Homeopathic Medicine at Home, Chapter 1: What is Homeopathy, p.9-12, J. P. Tarcher Inc., Los Angeles, 1980.
3. Ramamlal P. Patel, Homeopathy: Its Principles and Doctrines, Hahnemann Homeopathic Pharmacy, India, 1981, Chapter 4 (6), Chapter 2. What is Homeopathy?, chapter 3, Discovery of Homeopathy, pp. 2-5. C. M. S. Press, Kottayam.